L’athlète de l’équipe The North Face Jimmy Chin se tient debout au sommet d’une montagne, tenant son appareil photo.

Jimmy Chin, athlète de l’équipe et réalisateur lauréat d’un Academy Award.

Photo : Savannah Cummins

NOUS CÉLÉBRONS 10 ANS D’EXPLORATION POUR TOUS

L’exploration a le pouvoir de transformer les vies et d’unir les collectivités. Lorsque nous recherchons de nouvelles expériences, surmontons les difficultés et entrons en relation les uns avec les autres, nous nous transformons. Le fonds Explore Fund a concrétisé cette notion en faisant tomber les barrières, afin que nous puissions tous profiter du plein air et protéger les habitats sauvages. Nous avons donné vie à l’essence même de l’exploration, pour les gens et pour la culture. Une fois de plus, les événements actuels prouvent que nous devons accélérer radicalement ce projet et faire appel à des spécialistes dévoués pour nous aider à y parvenir.

A close-up headshot of actor, writer, director and producer Lena Waithe.

Voici le conseil
du fonds
Explore Fund

Voici le conseil
du fonds
Explore Fund

Lena Waithe, Actrice récompensée aux Emmy Awards, écrivaine, réalisatrice et productrice

Voici le conseil du fonds Explore Fund

Le premier conseil du fonds Explore Fund dont le lancement est prévu pour 2021 sera dirigé par Lena Waithe, actrice récompensée aux Emmy Awards, écrivaine, réalisatrice et productrice, qui a travaillé sans relâche pour défendre les voies émergentes au sein de l’industrie du divertissement, et par Jimmy Chin, athlète de l’équipe et réalisateur lauréat d’un Academy Award. Ils seront accompagnés par d’autres leaders de la culture, du divertissement, du monde universitaire et du plein air afin d’élaborer des idées et des solutions évolutives pour favoriser l’accès à l’exploration.

Le conseil du fonds Explore Fund aura pour mission d’accélérer la création des occasions d’exploration plus pertinentes sur le plan culturel et de démontrer aux différentes communautés les avantages de l’exploration. Les recommandations du conseil permettront d’orienter le financement initial de 7 millions de dollars, à l’échelle mondiale, pour continuer à renforcer l’équité en plein air et la création de nouvelles possibilités pour tous.


Ce que nous faisons

Depuis 2010, nous assurons un accès équitable au plein air à tout un chacun en finançant des centaines d’organisations autour de deux thèmes : Favoriser l’exploration et L’amour des habitats sauvages. Today, the Explore Fund continues to grow through major programs like the Explore Fund Council, Les murs existent pour être escaladés, Elles déplacent des montagnes, ainsi qu’à des partenariats avec des organisations comme The Conservation Alliance et beaucoup d’autres.

Permettre l'exploration

L'exploration appartient à tout le monde, mais certains font face à plus d'obstacles que d'autres. En supprimant les obstacles et en responsabilisant les gens, nous changeons notre façon de penser le plein air, nous-mêmes et notre place sur la planète. Nous nous ouvrons au large éventail de cultures et d'expériences qui nous connectent.

The North Face team athlete Jimmy Chin stands on a mountain peak, holding his camera.

Jimmy Chin, Team Athlete & Academy Award-Winning Director

Photo by Savannah Cummins

Celebrating 10 Years of Exploration for All

Exploration has the power to change lives and connect communities. When we search out new experiences, overcome obstacles and connect with each other, we change ourselves. The Explore Fund is how we’ve put this idea to work—by removing barriers so everyone can get outside and protect wild places. We’ve activated what it means to explore—for people and for culture. Yet, current events prove that we need to radically accelerate this work and enlist dedicated experts to help us do so.

A close-up headshot of actor, writer, director and producer Lena Waithe.

Introducing the Explore
Fund Council

Introducing
the Explore Fund Council

Lena Waithe, Emmy-Winning Actor, Writer, Director and Producer

Introducing the Explore Fund Council

Launching in 2021, the first Explore Fund Council will be led by Lena Waithe, an Emmy-winning actor, writer, director, and producer who has worked tirelessly to champion new voices within the entertainment industry, and Jimmy Chin, team athlete and Academy Award-winning director. They will be joined by other leaders across culture, entertainment, academia and the outdoors to create scalable solutions to increase access to exploration.

The Explore Fund Council will focus on accelerating culturally relevant exploration opportunities and connecting diverse communities to the benefits of exploration. Their recommendations will guide $7 million in initial funding, globally, to continue building equity in the outdoors and create opportunities for all.


What We Do

Since 2010, we've created access and driven equity in the outdoors by funding hundreds of organizations around two themes—Enabling Exploration and Loving Wild Places. Today, the Explore Fund continues to grow through major programs like the Explore Fund Council, Walls Are Meant For Climbing, Moves Mountains, and partnerships with organizations like The Conservation Alliance and many other organizations.

Enabling Exploration

Exploration is within everyone, but some face more barriers than others. By removing obstacles and empowering people, we change the way that we think about the outdoors, ourselves, and our place on the planet. We open ourselves to the wide range of cultures and experiences that connect us.

Loving Wild Places

For over 50 years, we’ve worked to protect wild places and create connections to outdoor playgrounds, both on mountaintops and in city parks. There is incredible value in the physical and mental benefits of exploring the outdoors, and we want that opportunity to be available for everyone, now and into the future.

Our Grants

Each year, we support nonprofit organizations who work to increase access to exploration through our Explore Fund grant cycle. We also empower and enable female filmmakers through our Move Mountains filmmaker grants.

Explore Fund Move Mountains

Our Partners

Our community of Explore Fund partners includes, but is not limited to the below:

Logo Farm